Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

The Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) establishes procedures for ensuring the safety and stability of placements of children across State lines. The ICPC is the contract between two states when a child has been approved to be placed with a family or facility in another state.

ICPC referrals can be initiated by private parties, courts, attorneys, and private and public child welfare agencies. Under no circumstances can a child be placed in another state without the approval of the ICPC Office. A child welfare agency may send a child to visit a relative in another state for up to 30 days and during the summer school vacation with court approval without an ICPC.

For children who are in the custody of Utah’s Child and Family Services, please refer to The Seven Steps to ICPC and the ICPC PowerPoint Training to help understand the ICPC process.

For additional information about the ICPC and state-by-state contact information, visit the Association of Administrators of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.


Statutory Penalties Under Article IV

To review the Utah law, please see the ICPC Utah Code Annotated Section 62A-4a-701. Any offense not explicitly designated is considered an infraction (Utah Code Annotated Section 76-3-105). The person convicted of an infraction subject to fine, forfeiture, disqualification, or any combination–Class C misdemeanor – $500 fine (Utah Code Annotated Section 76-3-205 and Section 76-3-302).

If you have any questions or comments about the Utah ICPC, please contact Sal Pahulu, Deputy Compact Administrator, at 801-538-4093 or email spahulu@utah.gov; or Marlene Goodrich, Assistant Program Manager, at 801-538-4513 or email mgoodrich@utah.gov.