Interstate Compact on the Placement of ChildrenThe Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) is a binding and enforceable contract between two states when a child has the approval to be placed with a family or facility in another state. The ICPC includes referrals on parents, relatives, foster parents, adoptive parents, and residential treatment facilities. Relatives of the first degree are excluded from the ICPC if the test is met in Article VIII (Limitations) of the law.
Persons who can initiate ICPC referrals are private parties, courts, attorneys, and private and public child welfare agencies. Under no circumstances can a child be placed in another state without the approval of the ICPC Office. The child welfare agencies may send a child to visit a relative in another state for up to 30 days and during the summer school vacation with court approval without an ICPC.
For children who are in the custody of Utah's Child and Family Services only, our ICPC office has put together The Seven Steps to ICPC and the ICPC Power Point Training to help understand the ICPC process.
The following forms can be used for processing an ICPC case for adoptions, foster care, kinship, or residential treatment center placements:
- Form 100A, Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Request
- Form 100B, Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Report on Child's Placement Status
- ICPC3 Regulation 7 Order of Compliance (used as a guideline for necessary court language for Regulation No. 7 home study)
- ICPC101 Sending State Priority Home Study Request (must be used when requesting Regulation No. 7 home study)
- Form 1, Utah Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Adoptions Checklist (used as a guideline in preparing an Interstate Referral for a Utah placement)
- Adoption Checklist for "Private Agency and Independent Adoptions"
For additional information about the ICPC and state-by-state contact information, visit the Association of Administrators of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children at http://icpc.aphsa.org/.
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV.
To review the Utah law, please see the ICPC Utah Code Annotated Section 62A-4a-701. Any offense not explicitly designated is considered an infraction (Utah Code Annotated Section 76-3-105). The person convicted of an infraction subject to fine, forfeiture, disqualification, or any combination--Class C misdemeanor - $500 fine (Utah Code Annotated Section 76-3-205 and Section 76-3-302).
If you have any questions or comments about the Utah ICPC, please contact Scott Hodges, Deputy Compact Administrator, at 801-538-4093 or email firstname.lastname@example.org; or Danelle England, Assistant Program Manager, at 801-538-4513 or email email@example.com.