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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR   DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Paula Neese, Director    Keith Krueger, Program Manager 
Department of Social Services    Department of Social Services 
Children’s Division    Children’s Division 
Post Office Box 88    Post Office Box 88 
Jefferson City, Missouri 64103-0088   Jefferson City, Missouri 65103-0088 
Telephone: (573) 526-6009    Telephone: (573) 751-2502 
Email: Paula.Neese@dss.mo.gov   Email: Keith.Krueger@dss.mo.gov 
 
Caseload Distribution – based on surname of oldest child in case. 
 
Mary Kay Kliethermes – Relative, Foster Care  A-L, Private/Public/Intercountry Adoptions  A-L. 
Residential Placements:  East/St. Louis area.  E-mail:  Mary.C.Kliethermes@dss.mo.gov   
 
Monica Sekscinski − Relative, Foster Care M-Z, Private/Public/Intercountry Adoptions M-Z 
Residential Placement: West/Kansas City area.  E-mail:  Monica.S.Sekscinski@dss.mo.gov   
 
Address Correspondence and Calls To:   ICPC Unit, Children’s Division  
                P.O. Box 88  
             Jefferson City, MO 65103-0088 
     Telephone: (573) 751-2981 
 
The following street address should be used ONLY for Federal Express, Airborne Express, UPS, etc. 
Please note that the U.S. Postal Service will not deliver mail to this address: 
 

ICPC Unit, Children’s Division  
Howerton Building  
615 Howerton Court 
Jefferson City, MO 65109 

 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Central Time Zone.  
 
FAX: (573) 522-2199 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. Section 210.620 RS Mo. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Class D felony to surrender child without first obtaining a court 
order to transfer custody of child (Section 453.110 RS Mo). 
 
Age of Majority. 18 years of age (Section 115.133 RS Mo). Under Juvenile Code - 17 years (Section 
211.031 RS Mo). The Court may continue jurisdiction until 21 years (Section 211.041 RS Mo). 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Juvenile Family Division of Circuit Court: delinquent, dependent, neglected, abused 
children, termination of parental rights; adoptive petitions (Section 211.031; 453.010; 211.442 211.487; 
210.125 RS Mo). Circuit Court: domestic relations (Section 452.130 - 452.550 RS Mo). First class 
counties have Family Court Division of Circuit Court; all others have Juvenile Court Division of Circuit 
Court. 
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REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. When court has placed child with authorized agency and/or in foster home, court required by 
law to review status of placement every six months; agency to file written status report every six 
months. Indefinite period of foster placement prohibited; agency to petition court to review status of 
placement for purposes of leaving child in foster home or returning child to natural parents(s), or 
placing child for adoption (Sections 210.700 - 210.760 RS Mo). 
 
Licensing Requirements. Institutions and child care facilities licensed by Department of Social Services. 
Division of Family Services (Sections 210.201 - 210.560 RS Mo). Licenses are issued for up to 2 years 
(Section 210.486 RS Mo). 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Divorce/Custody. Agency does not complete divorce/custody studies. Contact local court for 
information. ICPC Unit will act as forwarding center if local court cannot be determined. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Foster Care. All foster homes must be licensed by the Division of Family Services or other agency 
authorized by statute to license foster home (e.g. Department of Mental Health). 
 

Missouri children placed into foster care in other states must be placed in a 
licensed foster home which meets the receiving state’s licensing requirements. 
Missouri foster care rates will be paid unless otherwise noted. 

 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Are illegal in Missouri if the birth mother is the sending party, 
except as provided in item 3 below. Section 453.014 RS Mo permits the following persons/agencies to 
place a minor for adoption: (1) the Division of Family Services of the Department of Social Services; 
(2) a child placing agency licensed pursuant to Sections 210.481 210.536; (3) the child’s parents, without 
the direct or indirect assistance of an intermediary, in the home of a relative of the child within the third 
degree; (4) an intermediary, which shall include an attorney licensed pursuant to Chapter 484; a 
physician licensed pursuant to Chapter 334; or a clergyman of the parents. 
 
Adoption Petition. Petition is filed in Juvenile Family Court of the county in which the person seeking 
to adopt resides or in which the person sought to be adopted may be (Section 453.010 RS Mo). 
Minimum time between filing of petition and final decree is six (6) months (Section 453.080 RS Mo). 
Foster parents who have had a child in their home for at least 12 months may file adoption petition 
(Section 453.070 RS Mo). Court has discretion to waive time between filing of petition and final decree. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: Placements into residential facilities  
require prior interstate approval. Educational and medical facilities are exempt. 
 
-Requirements for Placements: Appropriate notification as prescribed by the Interstate 
Compact Rules & Regulations. All facilities must be licensed, except if exempt by 
statute. (Section 210.481 - 210.536). 
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-Approval of Facilities: Child caring and/or child placing agencies and their satellite 
foster homes, Group Foster Homes, and Residential Treatment facilities are licensed 
by the Missouri Division of Family Services Institutional Licensing Section. 

 
-Rate Setting: Rates are set by the facility. Specific costs are determined by the placing 
party and the provider, based upon need and the level of care required. 

 
-Monitoring of the Child: Responsibility rests with the sending agency and the 
residential facility. The ICPC Office will assist, if requested. 

 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placements are to be made in 
approved and/or licensed facilities appropriate to the needs of the child. Legal and 
financial responsibilities remain with the sending agency. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements. If the sending agency will be making a foster care payment 
utilizing Title IV-E funds to the proposed Missouri relative or non-relative caregiver, then the caregiver 
must be licensed. Such licensure is based upon licensing standards of  Missouri and does require the 
caregiver to attend foster parent training prior to issuance of a license. A provisional license cannot be 
issued. Placement of the child cannot occur until the foster home license has been issued by Missouri 
(except as provided under ICPC Regulation 1 whenever a foster family is moving into Missouri). 
 
If the proposed caregiver is a non-relative of the child who is to be placed into Missouri, that caregiver 
must be licensed as a foster home under Missouri’s licensing standards regardless of the method of 
payment being made for the care of the child. Placement of the child cannot occur until the foster 
home license has been issued by Missouri (except as provided under ICPC Regulation 1 whenever a 
foster family is moving into Missouri). 
 
If the proposed caregiver is a relative (as defined under Missouri DFS regulations) of the child who is to 
be placed into Missouri and if that caregiver will be receiving TANF or some other form of assistance 
which does not include Title IV-E funds, it is not necessary for the relative to be licensed as a foster 
home. However, the relative caregiver must have a home study completed and the home study must be 
approved before a child can be placed into that home. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
Payments. By Missouri agency are allowed on behalf of non-resident children placed with 
relatives in Missouri. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Are provided for Missouri children placed with foster parents and relatives 
(excluding natural parents) if out-of-state providers agree to enroll and participate in Missouri Medicaid 
programs. 
 
Foster Care Payments. Are made to licensed foster parents. If the Child is related to the foster parents, 
payment cannot be made unless the relative is certified/licensed as a foster parent. Missouri rate applies 
in out-of-state placement. 
 
Special Education Payments. To be determined on a case-by-case basis. 
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USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse. Calls from outside of  Missouri are not toll free. Telephone: (573) 751-3448, available 24 
hours per day. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Telephone: (573) 751-1283.  
 
Mental Health Compact Office. Telephone (573) 751-6739. 
 


	REQUIREMENTS
	SPECIAL INFORMATION
	PLACEMENTS
	PAYMENTS
	USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS

