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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR
Mary Dean Harvey, Division Director

Department of Human Resources

Division of Family and Children Services

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3180

Telephone: (404) 651-8409

Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls Related To Public Agency Adoptions:
Adoptions Unit

2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 8th Floor, Room 473

Atlanta, GA 30303

Public Agency Adoptive Placements L. Jane Durham (404) 657-3564
Adoption Assistance Adrian Owens  (404) 657-3558

INDEPENDENT AND PRIVATE AGENCY ADOPTIONS ARE PROCESSED BY
ADOPTION PLANNING INC., 2849 PACES FERRY ROAD, SUITE 215, ATLANTA, GA
30339. CONTACT PERSON: RHONDA FISHBEIN AT (770) 434-7822. FAX: (770) 437-1197.
OFFICE HOURS ARE 8:30 AM. TO 4:30 P.M.

Foster Care Unit

Gloria Patterson (A-G) Telephone: (404) 657-3457

All Other Interstate Matters

James Graves (H-P) Patricia Nealy — Children Last Names (Q-Z)
Social Services Section Social Services Section

Division of Family and Children Services Division of Family and Children Services
Foster Care ICPC Unit Foster Care Unit

2 Peachtree Street, NW, 18t Floor 2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 18t Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303-3180 Atlanta, GA 30303

Telephone: (404) 657-3567 Telephone: (404) 463-2216

ICPC Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5-00 p.m., Eastern Time Zone.

FAX: Public Agency Adoption  (404) 657-9498 FAX: All Other  (404) 657-3415

GENERAL INFORMATION

ICPC Code Citation. O.C.G.A. 39-4-1 through 39-4-10.

Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. A person or an association in violation of adoption provisions
provided in Code Section 19-8 shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more than
ten years, or both, in the discretion of the Court.

Adge of Majority. 18 years. O.C.G.A. 39-1-1. Under Juvenile Court Code Act-under 17 years for the
unruly child. O.C.G.A. 15-11-2.

Court Jurisdiction: Juvenile Court: unruly, delinquent, deprived (which includes abandoned, neglected
and dependent children) and termination of parental rights. O.C.G.A. 15-11-5.
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Superior Court. Domestic relations, O.C.G.A. 19-1-1; 19-9-3; adoption. O.C.G.A. 19-8-2. Juvenile
Court and Superior Court have concurrent: jurisdiction over juveniles who are alleged to have
committed capital crimes and in a custody controversy except where Superior Court has exclusive
jurisdiction O.C.G.A. 15-11-5.

SPECIAL INFORMATION

Custody Investigations, Divorce Cases and Those Unrelated to the ICPC. Send requests for
investigations in divorce matters between parents to county Departments of Family and Children
Services, with a copy to ICPC Office. If divorce matter involves possible placement with a third
party, send request to ICPC Office of forwarding. Send requests for home evaluations involving
disputes which are not divorce matters to ICPC Office, even if sending agency does not consider it
an ICPC matter. Include court order; fees are not charged.

REQUIREMENTS
Reports. Quarterly unless otherwise requested.

Licensing Requirements. Childcare institutions, child placing agencies, maternity homes, family foster
homes must be licensed or approved annually by the Department of Human Resources. O.C.G.A.
45-5-8. A license to a child welfare agency is deemed to be approval of all foster family homes and
foster homes which are approved, supervised and used by the agency O.C.G.A. 49-5-8.

PLACEMENTS

Adoption. Georgia recognizes both voluntary relinquishments and court ordered termination of
parental rights. The rights of the biological father who is not also the legal father must be addressed
if the adoption is to be finalized in Georgia. Under Georgia law the biological father whether known
or unknown has the right to notice concerning the placement of his child (O.C.G.A. 19-8-12). A
form 413, background information and the approved 100-A must be attached to the adoption
petition when filed.

Agency Adoptive Placements. (O.C.G.A. 19-8-4). An agency must be licensed for adoptive
placements by the Department of )-Human Resources in order to operate within the State. An
agency licensed in another state must work with an agency licensed in Georgia in order to place a
child with a Georgia family. Home studies and placement supervision must be done by the agency
licensed in Georgia. An interstate package on a child to be placed in Georgia must include a complete
social and medical history on the child and birth family, certified copies of release or court order, and
birth certificate. If the family home study was not completed by the Georgia state agency (County
Department of Family and Child Services) a copy of the home study must be included in the

package.

Independent Adoptive Placements. (O.C.G.A. 19-8-5). A parent may arrange an adoption providing
an agent is names. Notice of revocation to the agent must be given within 10 days of the parent’s
release of the child. Payment of medical and legal expenses on behalf of the mother and child is
permitted but any other financial assistance, paid directly or indirectly, is considered an inducement.
Advertisements are prohibited and this includes any private means such as oral statements that a
person, or an association of any kind, will arrange for or cause children to be adopted. Violation of
the provisions is a felony. (O.C.G.A. 19-8-24).
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Adoption Petitions. Petitioner must be a resident of the state for six months immediately preceding
the filing of the petition. (O.C.G.A. 19-8-2). All petitions are filed with the Superior Court in the
county of the petitioner’s residence or at the court’s discretion in the county of the child’s domicile
or in a county where a licensed child-placing agency having custody of the child is located. (O.C.G.A.
19-8-1). Minimum time between the filing of petition and adjudication is sixty days. (O.C.G.A. 19-8-
14).

Residential Placements.

-Placement Requiring Interstate Approval: ICPC approval required after acceptance
by the placement facility.

-Requirements for Placements: Form. ICPC-100A. Court document, child summary,
and any other pertinent information for approval and supervision.

-Approval of Facilities: Childcare institutions, group homes and residential
treatment facilities are licensed by the Department of Human Resources

-Rate Setting: Placement facilities set their own rates.

-Monitoring of the Child: Responsibility rests with sending agency and the
placement facility.

-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placement must comply
with ICPC requirements and be in the best interest of the child.

Requirements for Foster Care Placement. Foster homes must be approved in accordance with
Georgia foster home standards. Placements must comply with ICPC requirements.

PAYMENTS

TANF Payments. Payments are provided for children placed from other states if TANF eligibility
requirements are met.

Medicaid Payments. Medicaid payments on behalf of children placed from other states will be made
if the children are eligible for AFDC. The sending agency is responsible for medical expenses not
covered by Medicaid.

Foster Care Payment. Georgia rates are paid unless an exception is approved by the Division of
Family and Children Services.

Special Education Payments. Children placed from other states may attend public school special
education programs.

USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS

Juvenile Compact Office. Telephone: (404) 508-6556.

Mental Health Compact Office. Telephone: (404) 657-5737.
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